More about the Zeil Lab

Lab awards


Chloe Raderschall - Recipient of the 2014 Heiligenberg Travel Award.
Jochen Zeil - Top Referee, Proceedings of the Royal Society B.


Ajay Narendra Winner of the Science Up Close Photography, ABC Science, Australia
Sam Reid - Best Student Presentation, Australian Society for the Study of Animal Behaviour Conference
Jochen Zeil - Elected President of the Australasian Society for the Study of Animal Behaviour
Jochen Zeil - Elected to the Council of the International Society for Neuroethology, 2009
Ajay Narendra - Australian Postdoctoral Fellowship (APD) by the Australian Research Council, Australia
Sam Reid - Best Student Presentation, The Research School of Biology Student Conference.


Ajay Narendra - Young Tall Poppy Science Award, Australia
Jochen Zeil - Elected Co-Chair (with Susan Fahrbach) of the Gordon Research Conference on Neuroethology 2011.

Former Lab members and visitors

  • Sam Reid (PhD)
  • Ali Alkaladi (PhD)
  • Debjani Das (2007-9 Visiting Fellow) now at the John Curtin School of Medical Research, Canberra
  • Eric Warrant University of Lund, Sweden (2010 Visiting Fellow)
  • Jochen Smolka (PhD) moved to The Lund Vision Group
  • Lisa Vlahos (PhD, Research Assistant)
  • Martin How (PhD) moved to the Sensory Neurobiology Group, Queensland Brain Institute
  • Nicole Carey (PhD) now in the Centre of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology, University of Bielefeld
  • Norbert Boeddeker (Emmy-Noether-Fellow (DFG) now at University of Bielefeld
  • Richard Peters (ARC & ACEVS Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Sarah Gourmaud (2010 International Intern Student)
  • Stephane Viollet CNRS Marseille, France (2010 Visiting Fellow)
  • Tanya Detto (PhD)
  • Tobias Merkle (DFG Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Willi Ribi University of Liechtenstein (2006 - 2014, Visiting Fellow)
  • Wolfgang Stuerzl (DFG Postdoctoral Fellow & CVS Visiting Fellow) now at University of Bielefeld.