Honorary groups

Find out more about our honorary groups below.

Badger Group - Photosynthetic functional genomics »

Led by: Murray Badger

The Badger Group is focused on understanding the ways different photosynthetic organisms have adapted to efficiently fix CO2, where CO2 is a limiting substrate.

Ball (Eldon) Group - The molecular basis of coral biology »

Led by: Eldon Ball

We use molecular tools to investigate many aspects of coral biology including comparative genomics, development, stress responses and calcification.

Behm Group - Nematode molecular biology »

Led by: Carol Behm

We use powerful biological resources provided by C. elegans to study aspects of nematode biochemistry, molecular biology and behaviour, and control methods.

Chow Group - Thylakoid structure and function »

Led by: Wah Chow

We investigate the structural organization of the thylakoid membrane; electron flow in leaves; quantification of Photosystem II; and photodamage.

Chung Group - Biophysics of ion channels »

Led by: Shin-Ho Chung

We are developing a computational program to study the interaction between polypetpides (drugs, toxins, other large molecules) and membrane ion channels.

Cooper Group - Insect physiology, salt and water regulation »

Led by: Paul Cooper

Group research topics include insect physiology, salt and water regulation; locust and grapevine scale biology, and environmental physiology.

Evans Group - Physiology of photosynthesis; interactions with nitrogen »

Led by: John Evans

We study relating photosynthesis to nitrogen; CO2 diffusion within leaves; analysing how plants acclimate to their light environment.

Maleszka Group - From molecules to behaviour »

Led by: Ryszard Maleszka

We are investigating diverse epigenetic mechanisms in the context of behaviour and developmental plasticity, mainly using the honey bee model.

Verma Group - Bacterial and bacteriophage genetics, and vaccine development »

Led by: Naresh Verma

We investigate the molecular mechanism of the O-antigen modification in S. flexneri by studying the structure proteins responsible for these changes.

Zeil Group - Ecological neuroscience »

Led by: Jochen Zeil

We are interested in insect navigation and the sensory, neural and behavioural adaptations that underpin navigational competence in insects.