Organisational structure

Research School of Biology is led by a Director who has ultimate responsibility for strategic direction, budget, and the operation of the School.

The RSB Executive Committee is comprised of the School Director, the Heads of the three Divisions, the Head of Teaching and Learning, the Associate Director of Research, the Associate Director of Education, the Associate Director of Higher Degree by Research (HDR), and the School Manager. The School Executive serves as an advisory board, providing advice and making recommendations to the Director. The Executive does not have decision-making power, but assists in informing the Director on all areas of the School’s activities and provides a consultative mechanism within the School. The Executive itself is informed by the RSB Faculty which meets quarterly and includes reports from the Chairs of RSB Committees and User Groups and Heads of Divisions.

The School has three Divisions: Biomedical Science and Biochemistry (BSB), Ecology and Evolution (E&E) and Plant Sciences (PS). Each Division has a Head who supervises the academic Group Leaders and Divisional-level technical and administrative staff in their Division.

The Biology Teaching and Learning Centre (BTLC) coordinates all biology teaching across the campus, including contributions from the Research School of Biology, the John Curtin School of Medical Research, the Fenner School of Environment and Society, and the Research School of Population Health.

The School Manager has overall responsibility for running the service areas, which include Administration, Information Technology, Purchasing and Store, Building and Infrastrcuture Services, Compliance Services, Plant Services and Divisional Support Teams. The Joint Mass Spectrometry Facility also indirectly reports to the School Manager.

A number of Committees and User Groups provide input into the operation of the Service Teams and Teaching areas.

Updated:  16 January 2024/Responsible Officer:  Web Services/Page Contact:  Web Services