Jan Anderson ANU-NTU HDR Supplementary Scholarship

Inaugural Jan Anderson Scholarship winner Sally Buck (centre), with Spencer Whitney (Sally’s supervisor), Allen Rodrigo (RSB Director), Brian Schmidt (ANU Vice-Chancellor), Bertil Andersson (president, Nanyang Technical University (NTU), Singapore), Susan Inaugural Jan Anderson Scholarship winner Sally Buck (centre)

This scholarship is named for Jan Anderson, who was one of Australia's most internationally recognised plant scientists, and who worked first at CSIRO and then at ANU, until she passed away in 2015. The award also recognises the close personal ties between Jan and Bertil Andersson, the former President of NTU. They worked together on the intracellular architecture of photosynthetic systems and while their hypotheses about the distribution of these systems within cells was initially greeted with skepticism, it was later shown to be true.

The ANU-NTU Jan Anderson HDR Supplementary Scholarship provides financial support for students currently enrolled in an RSB HDR program to travel to Nanyang Technical University (NTU) in Singapore to undertake joint research and help them develop their scientific and professional skills.

More details about the scholarship.


2017 Sally Buck

Contact: rsb.studentadmin@anu.edu.au


Updated:  13 August 2019/Responsible Officer:  Web Services/Page Contact:  Web Services