HDR conference 2016

1 December 2016

Nearly 100 RSB graduate students gave talks about their research, and more presented their work as posters, at the 2016 annual RSB HDR Conference this month. The eight-minute talks were run in three concurrent sessions, one for each Division, followed by a poster session. 

Prizes were given for the best presentations in each division, and for the best poster presentation.  These were announced a few days later at the school morning tea.  Winners are: Flor Danila (PS), Pip Beale (EE), and Erick Tjhin (BSB).  Runners up are: Ross Deans (PS), Robyn Shaw (EE), and Adelaide Dennis (BSB). Adelaide also won the poster prize. Judges were the HDR conveners, Alex Maier, Adrienne Nicotra and Spencer Whitney, along with a range of post docs and lab leaders.

Many people contributed to make the conference a huge success.  It was organised by a student committe - Jessie Au, Lily Chen Christiana McDonald-Spicer, Pawan Parajuli, Kathryn Parker, Joshua Penalba, Emmanuel Young, Lingling Zhu - with Senior HDR Officer Karen Scholte and Associate Professor Spencer Whitney.

Session chairs were Gavin Huttley, Giel van Dooren, Shinichi Asao, Craig Moritz, Maja Adamska, Brendon Conlan, Rod Peakall, Denisse Leyton, Diana Esperanza, Megan Head, Hoa Nguyen. Ian Brennan, Pawan Parajuli, Lingling Zhu, Jessica Fenker Antunes, Pamodha Somasiri, Jacinta Watkins, Phillipa Beale, Kathryn Parker, Annamaria de Rosa, Alyssa Weinstein, Estee Tee were the IT helpers.