Graham Farquhar wins ACT Senior Australian of the Year Award
7 November 2017

Distinguished scientist and ANU Professor Graham Farquhar AO has won the ACT Senior Australian of the Year award for 2018.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC congratulated Professor Farquhar on the award.

"On behalf of the University, I congratulate Graham on this award and acknowledge his distinguished career and significant contribution to environmental and food sciences," Professor Schmidt said.

"He is an excellent role model for the next generation of scientists, and while senior in years, still vibrantly youthful."

Professor Farquhar will now represent the ACT for national Senior Australian of the Year Award, to be announced ahead of Australia Day in January.

Professor Farquhar, from the ANU Research School of Biology at the College of Science, earlier this year became the first Australian to win the prestigious Kyoto Prize.

He was recognised for his work in plant biophysics and photosynthesis, which has involved research on water-efficient crops and the impacts of climate change.

Professor Farquhar first came to ANU as an undergraduate, completing his Bachelor of Science in 1968. He returned to the University to complete his PhD in Environmental Biology in 1973.

He was appointed a Distinguished Professor at the ANU Research School of Biology in 2004.

He won the Prime Minister's Prize for Science in 2015.

Source: ANU Media article.