ANU scientist Graham Farquhar first Australian to win Kyoto Prize
ANU scientist Graham Farquhar first Australian to win Kyoto Prize
16 June 2017

The Australian National University (ANU) congratulates distinguished scientist Distinguished Professor Graham Farquhar AO, who has become the first Australian to win a Kyoto Prize - the most prestigious international award for fields not traditionally honoured with a Nobel Prize.

Professor Farquhar has won the 2017 Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences for his life's work in plant biophysics and photosynthesis, which has involved research on water-efficient crops and the impacts of climate change.

He has helped develop new water-efficient varieties of wheat, improved global food security, and found evaporation and wind speeds are slowing as the climate changes.

"It's wonderful to get this kind of international recognition, but it also brings on a case of imposter syndrome," said Professor Farquhar from the ANU Research School of Biology.  

"I can think of so many people among my peers who have done more than I have. The work that this prize recognises has really been a team effort, so I'd like to acknowledge my colleagues, students and the ANU, where I have worked for my whole career. It's a wonderful honour for all of us."

The prize is the latest in a string of accolades, including the Prime Minister's Prize for Science in 2015 and Britain's prestigious Rank Prize, which he shared in 2014 with CSIRO colleague Dr Richard Richards.

Professor Farquhar said he was proud to be the first Australian to win a Kyoto Prize and he hoped that the award encouraged other Australians to work in agricultural and ecological research.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC congratulated Professor Farquhar on the latest honour.

"This award acknowledges Graham's crucial work and global leadership to help feed the world in a changing climate," Professor Schmidt said.

"I'm proud that we have a person of Graham's calibre working at ANU, tackling some of the most profound challenges facing humanity and the environment."

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham commended Professor Farquhar on the Kyoto Prize and his life's work. 

"Dr Farquhar's Kyoto Prize is another feather in the cap for a man with an incredibly distinguished career so far who has been able to make significant contributions to environmental and food sciences," Minister Birmingham said. 

"On behalf of the Turnbull Government, I offer him our congratulations on this deserved honour and we look forward to his continued contributions to this field of science that is so important, especially for Australia.  

Australian Ambassador to Japan Richard Court AC welcomed the announcement of Professor Farquhar's Kyoto Prize.

"Dr Farquhar is one of Australia's most eminent and ground-breaking scientists, responsible for re-shaping our understanding of photosynthesis, the very basis of life on Earth," Mr Court said.

"I extend my whole-hearted congratulations to Dr Farquhar and the other winners. I extend my thanks also to the Inamori Foundation for their commitment to recognising eminent leaders such as Dr Farquhar who have extended the frontiers of our knowledge."

As part of the award, Professor Farquhar will receive 50 million yen, which is equivalent to $600,000 in Australia.

Kyoto Prizes have been awarded annually since 1985 in three categories - Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy - to people "who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of mankind".

Professor Farquhar was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) in 2013, and won the 2016 Australian Academy of Science Macfarlane Burnett Medal and Lecture. He was elected a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences in 2013, and was a member of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change which won a Nobel Prize in 2007.

Dr Farquhar was appointed a Distinguished Professor at the ANU Research School of Biology in 2004, and he is a Chief Investigator at the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis, which is based at ANU.

He also leads a collaboration between ANU, University of Western Sydney and the CSIRO on Forests for the Future: making the most of a high CO2 world, funded by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund.

Related links