Biology at ANU – the first 50 years

Our banner features the Slayter Medal, designed by Stephen Holland. The Medal was presented for the first time in 2017.

In 2017, we celebrated 50 years of Biology at ANU.
Since our founding in 1967, we have grown to a school of around 600 people, including academic and professional staff, graduate students and affiliates.

Three separate schools – Botany and Zoology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the Research School of Biological Sciences – merged in 2009 to become the Research School of Biology, with four divisions: Ecology and Evolution, Biomedical Science and Biochemistry, Plant Sciences, and Biology Teaching and Learning Centre.

On this page, we remember some of the achievements and memorable occasions of the first 50 years, along with some institutional and personal stories and photos.

Updated:  14 October 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director RSB/Page Contact:  Webmaster RSB