New Academy of Science Fellows

26 March 2014

Hanna Kokko and Craig Moritz from the Research School of Biology's Division of Evolution, Ecology and Genetics have been elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science, in recognition of their contribution to scientific research.

Australian Academy of Science Fellowships recognise the nation’s most distinguished scientists. Fellows are elected by their peers for 'outstanding research that has pushed back the frontiers of knowledge'.

Craig Moritz and Hanna Kokko are among seven ANU scientists, and 21 Australian scientists, who will be admitted to the Fellowship in May.

Professor Hanna Kokko was elected for her significant contributions to ecology and evolutionary biology using novel mathematic methods.

Professor Craig Moritz was elected for his work to improve our understanding of evolutionary biology, particularly how new species arise and develop in different contexts.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO, congratulated the new Fellows and said the honour underlined the strength of Australia’s scientific research. “To be elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science is a well-deserved honour and due recognition of scientific excellence and research,” Professor Young said. “ANU extends its congratulations to the new Fellows.”

The Academy’s President Suzanne Cory also congratulated the new Fellows. “All of these scientists are doing amazing and significant work in their chosen fields – they are the Olympic athletes of science.”

Related links