2023 Honours/Masters Final Seminars

BSB Chair - Stefan Broer
11:00-11:20 Deonath, Asmita Hons Christina Spry   The effect of the drug pyranzinoic acid on the PanD C-terminas      
11:20-11:40 Shanmuga Nathan, Paremila Hons Christina Spry   Characterising the C-terminal domain of Mycobacterium tuberculosis DPCK      
11:40-12:00 Champion, James Hons Ben Corry Ruitao Jin Explaining the molecular basis of sodium channel voltage sensor kinetics with computational simulations      
12:00-12:20 Hanks, Ben Hons Ben Corry   Assessing the accuracy of Alphafold for molecular docking and finding the targets of the anti-malarial MMV box      
12:40-13:00 Nie, Xiaoqi Hons Kevin Saliba   The flavin adenine dinucleotide synthetase of the human malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum as a potential drug target.      
13:00-13:20 Lunn, Bridget Hons Colin Jackson   Engineering natural peptides into possible therapeutics      
13:20-13:40 Horvat, Lara Hons Joe Brock   Constructing an estrogen biosensor by expressing GPCR in S. cerevisiae cells      
13:40-14:00 Kumar,Bhavika -JCSMR Masters Eduardo Eyras Nikolay Shirokikh Calibration of RNA integrity for transcriptomic-wide applications      
14:20-14:40 Zhao, Leqian Masters Giel van Dooren Stephen Fairweather Exploring redundancies in amino acid uptake pathways in Toxoplasma parasites      
14:40-15:00 Hodgson, Evie Rose Hons Giel van Dooren   Elucidating the role of TgCIA1 in cytosolic iron-sulfur cluster biosynthesis and maturation in Toxoplasma gondii