Janet Elspeth Crawford Postgraduade Leadership Prize


Citation for Christiana McDonald-Spicer (Moritz Group)

The quality of Christiana’s work and presentations has been recognised by awards – notably the Best ECR talk at the 2019 annual meeting of the International Biogeography Society, and also a finalist position in the 2017 3MT competition. In addition to demonstrating her own dedication to communicating science in accessible and engaging ways, she was an excellent ambassador for the 3MT program and made great efforts to encourage and support other students in RSB to take on this challenge.

Christiana has made strong contributions to the postgraduate culture in RSB. Within her division of the school, EE, she has regularly volunteered as an organiser of student-led HDR events. Christiana has distinguished herself in contributing to this culture in many ways including as an organiser and facilitator of; that annual EE and whole of RSB HDR orientation retreats; the monthly ECR ‘chit chat’ sessions and the annual HDR conference. She served on the Research Training Committee for almost 3 years as a HDR representative for EE. Christiana is always keen to volunteer her time and efforts for the good of everyone and to create solidarity and a supportive environment – this has made her a highly valued community member by her fellow HDR students as well as the HDR convenors. Christiana has made an exceptional contribution to promoting a culture of equity in RSB and is one of the most active participants in gender equity across the College. She has taken a lead role in organizing activities and promoting equity, which includes being the main author on two significant reports to the RSB Executive. Christiana’s actions have led to the profile of equity in RSB being raised considerably, the reports having led to many corridor discussions as well as action through the Executive.

Each year the College of Science may offer a prize known as the Janet Elspeth Crawford Postgraduate Leadership Prize. The objective/s of the prize are to recognise a postgraduate student who has demonstrated significant leadership and outstanding academic achievement. Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.