Bede Morris Fellowship for Early Career Research


The Bede Morris Fellowship is awarded on an annual basis to one outstanding Australian scientist undertaking research in France. The Fellowship is in honour of Professor Bede Morris’s contribution to science and French–Australian relations. Professor Morris was a pioneer of immunology in Australia, establishing the first department of immunology in Australia in 1969 at the John Curtin School of Medical Research at the Australian National University.

Dr Denisse Leyton (Monash University) was selected as the 2012 recipient of the Bede Morris Fund. Dr Leyton will travel to France for 2 ½ months from October 2012 to work with Dr Olivera Francetic at the Institut Pasteur on structural and functional insights into the assembly of type IV pili from enterophaemorrhagic Escherichia coli.


Australian Academy of Science Bede Morris Fellowship.