ACT Emerging Scientist of the Year Award


Dr Colin Jackson from the Australian National University is the inaugural ACT Scientist of the Year. Dr Jackson is a leader in his field of chemistry and is contributing greatly to research into areas such as Alzheimers.

The annual ACT Emerging Scientist of the Year Award recognises the achievements of an up-and-coming local scientist with significant potential to continue to achieve in their chosen field of research.

The award comes with $30,000 in prize money.

The award:

  • celebrates excellence in scientific research and innovation in the ACT
  • showcases the contribution that local scientists make to science and innovation
  • inspires and encourages students to consider careers in STEM.