Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award

Year awarded


Awarding institution

The American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB)

The Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award is the oldest award offered by the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB), and was established in 1925 at the first annual meeting of the Society through the generosity of Dr. Charles A. Shull. It honors Dr. Charles Reid Barnes, the first professor of plant physiology at the University of Chicago.

It is an annual award for meritorious work in plant biology; it provides a life membership in the Society to an individual who is at least sixty years old. Membership is not a requirement for the award, and, if appropriate, every fifth award should be made to an outstanding plant biologist from outside the United States.

Susanne von Caemmerer was the 2017 recipient.

Updated:  24 September 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director RSB/Page Contact:  Webmaster RSB