Structural biology: challenges and prospects

Date & time

22 September 2010


 Gavin Perri


Nobel prize winner Professor Johann Deisenhofer

Date: Wednesday 22 September 2010
Time: 4:00pm
Venue: Dunbar Physics Lecture Theatre

Johann Deisenhofer is the 1988 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry. He was awarded the prize jointly with Hartmut Michel and Robert Huber for their crystal structure determination of the membrane bound photosynthetic reaction centre. Prof Deisenhofer has been working at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas since 1988.

Using examples from their own work, he will discuss open questions in modeling macromolecular structures and dynamics. Professor Deisenhofer will also comment on recent technological developments, such as, for example, the free electron lasers coming online in Europe, the US, and Japan.

Updated:  19 August 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director RSB/Page Contact:  Webmaster RSB