RSB Student Conference 2014
4 December 2014

Congratulations to all 91 students who presented at the 2014 RSB student conference. The short-format talks once again provided a highly engaging showcase of the diverse and high calibre research being undertaken within the School.

Thanks go to Erin Pugh, Gen Carey and Panit Thamsongsana from the Biology Teaching and Learning Centre, the session chairs, the adjudicators and the academic network convenors (Adrienne Nicotra, Stefan Broer/Naresh Verma, and Spencer Whitney) for their role in ensuring that the event was a success.

Thanks also to Don Lim and Sarah Shafik (BSB), Anna Harts and Nina McLean (EEG), Christina Delay and Eli Thynne (PS) for organising the scientific program and the 'After Party'. The higher quality of the presentations this year made it particularly challenging to identify the award winners in each PhD program.

The winners of Hirota Naora award (each totalling $900) were:
Tiffany Russell (BSB),
Damien Esquerre (EEG) and
Eli Thynne (PS).

Runner-up prizes of $250 were awarded to
Sarah Shafik (BSB),
Marta Vidal Garcia (EEG) and
Thi Hoa Nguyen (PS).

The record number of attendees helped ensure that the conference, and the 'After Party', were a great success. Many thanks go to the live music from “Hallows Eve” (made up of local band members Jared Streich, Damien Esquerre, Steven Ellis, Baxter Massey, and Carly Conlan) that helped keep the party going late.

Related links

Updated:  14 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Web Services/Page Contact:  Web Services