Rank Prize


Year awarded


Awarding institution

The Rank Prize Funds

The prize was awarded on 10 February 2014 to Distinguished Professor Graham Farquhar AO and CSIRO Fellow Dr Richard Richards, for 'pioneering the understanding of isotope discrimination in plants and its application to breed wheat varieties that use water more efficiently'. The award relates to a discovery in the 1980’s, where the pair found a way to predict the amount of water needed to best grow different types of wheat.

The UK-based Rank Prize Funds is a charitable organisation which seeks to recognise excellence in specific fields of research and reward innovators for their dedication and outstanding contribution, and have as their objectives the advancement and promotion for the public benefit of knowledge, education and learning in sciences of nutrition and optoelectronics.

The pair each received a prize of $150,000 prize from the Rank Nutrition Fund (Human and Animal Nutrition and Crop Husbandry). The only other Australian to be awarded the rank prize was a CSIRO plant scientist, 33 years ago.


Updated:  19 November 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director RSB/Page Contact:  Webmaster RSB