Finalist: Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research


Year awarded


Awarding institution

The Australian Museum

One of two finalists for the 'Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research' prize

Dr Denisse Leyton, The Australian National University; Dr Joel Selkrig, European Molecular Biology Laboratory; and Dr Hsin-Hui Shen and Professor Trevor Lithgow, Monash University.

The team’s research represents a significant leap forward in understanding the fundamental mechanisms by which key disease-causing molecules (autotransporters) are assembled in bacterial ‘superbugs’. Through this research, the team has discovered ways to interfere with the assembly process, depriving the superbugs of deadly molecular weaponry and leading to potential therapeutic applications including the prevention of antibiotic-resistant infections.

2015 Eureka Prizes Finalists

Updated:  19 November 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director RSB/Page Contact:  Webmaster RSB